The Association of Anaesthetists of Great Britain and Ireland (AAGBI) logo - click for high-res version

Award Presented to Innovative Anaesthetists


January 19, 2012, London, UK. Press Dispensary. Today (Friday) a new prize for Innovation in Anaesthesia and Critical Care will be presented to joint winners Dr James Limb from Royal Hospital for Sick Children in Glasgow and Dr Graeme McLeod from Institute of Academic Anaesthesia, Ninewells Hospital & Medical School in Dundee. The award is given by the Association of Anaesthetists of Great Britain and Ireland (AAGBI) at their Winter Scientific Meeting held in London and will be presented by well known anaesthetist Dr Archie Brain, inventor and innovator in airway management.  

Applications for the award were open to all anaesthetists and intensivists with the emphasis on new ideas contributing to patient safety, high quality clinical care and improvements in the working environment.  Dr Bernard Liban, who set up the new section of innovation and the award and is a member of the judging panel said:  

"Anaesthetists are very inventive individuals, always at the forefront of innovations and practical solutions. Iím thrilled with the amount of high quality applicants weíve had, considering this is the first year the AAGBI has run the award. Dr Limb and Dr McLeodís innovations are insightful and original and could really improve the way anaesthetists work and also contribute to patientís safety".

Dr McLeod has successfully built a prototype for his innovation with a group of engineers headed by Professor Sandy Cochran and Professor George Corner, and funded by the Medical Research Council Development Funding Pathway Scheme. Its radical design has the potential to make regional anaesthesia easier and safer to perform.  Dr Limbís innovation is called 'Air Free' and is a redesigned drip chamber for intravenous infusions that prevents air entering the intravenous tubing.  

Winning the award will allow the product or idea to be showcased in front medical equipment manufacturers, and will help with funds towards testing and marketing. Dr Limb commented on winning the award:

"Working collaboratively, Ian Guy, a product design engineer, and two anaesthetists, Graham Bell and I, have designed this new drip set for patients.  This will make the lives of staff significantly easier, and has the potential to reduce patient harm by eliminating the problem of air bubbles entering the drips we use to give fluids and drugs to patients. We are very grateful to the AAGBI for recognising our work, and will use the prize money in further prototype development as we approach the point of being able to use this in the clinical setting."

Both winners were chosen from over 20 applicants by a panel of experts out including anaesthetists Bernard Liban, Monty Mythen and Kevin Fong.

- ends -

Notes for editors
About the AAGBI
The Association of Anaesthetists of Great Britain and Ireland (AAGBI) was founded in 1932. Itís the leading representative body for over 10,000 anaesthetists in the UK and overseas, and is one of the UKís largest single grant providers for anaesthetic research.  The AAGBI has a broad constitution that enables it to promote and advance education, safety and research in anaesthesia, as well as the professional aspects of the specialty and the welfare of individual anaesthetists.

For further information, please contact:
Stephanie Addington, Marketing and Communications Manager
The Association of Anaesthetists of Great Britain and Ireland (AAGBI)
Tel: 020 7631 8854

Media contacts

Stephanie Addington, Marketing and Communications Manager
Tel: 020 7631 8854

anaesthesia awards anaesthesia innovation AAGBI

Short permalink: